Physical Properties of Shale: The impact on imaging

18-19 September 2006

  • Date 18.09.2006
  • Time 09:00
  • Duration 2 days
  • Participants 74
  • Register by 14.09.2006
Physical Properties of Shale: The impact on imaging_main_img




Shales are the most abundant sedimentary rock type, with physical properties that play an important role in the recovery of hydrocarbons.  However, these properties have not been investigated as extensively as those of reservoir rocks. Shale may vary significantly in physical properties, and their relationship to petrophysical measurements is generally not straightforward.

Understanding the elastic properties of shales is important, since production-related changes in the acoustic properties of thick shale layers effect seismic wave propagation.  The effects of anisotropy on imaging are well known in the seismic community. Anisotropy is also observed in resistivity measurements and may play a role in electro-magnetic imaging. At present, the factors contributing to shale anisotropy are often difficult to definitively isolate.

There is an increasing awareness that shale properties impact the recovery of oil and gas both directly and indirectly. We wish to host a seminar concerning the physical properties of shales, focusing on the impact of these properties on imaging. Also discussed will be rock-mechanics and dynamic changes in shale properties associated with hydrocarbon production.

The seminar will focus on:

  • Imaging
  • Reservoir Characterization and 4D effects 
  • Physical Properties of Shales
  • Geological control of physical properties of shales
  • Pore scale properties
  • Acoustic and electrical properties (attenuation, anisotropy)
  • Transport properties
  • Pressure and stress / rock mechanical effects 

A formal invitation and call for paper will be distributed in due time.

Organizing Committee:
Olav Inge Barkved (BP)
Craig Hartline (ConocoPhillips)
Gerd Kleemeyer (Shell)

Advising Committee:
Nader Dutta (Schlumberger)
Christian Hermanrud (Statoil) 
Erling Fjær (SINTEF)
Brian Hornby (BP)
Tron Kristiansen (BP)
Frans Kets (Shell)
Martin Landrø (NTNU)
Bjørn Ursin (NTNU)

Photo: Øyvind Hagen - Statoil