Advanced imaging, velocity model building and depth uncertainty

Welcome to this new FORCE seminar in the Valhall auditorium.

  • Date 04.10.2018
  • Time 08:30
  • Duration 1 day
  • Participants 81
  • Register by 01.10.2018
Advanced imaging, velocity model building and depth uncertainty

The Force Geophysical Methods network group invites you to join a one-day seminar to review the current state-of-the art in seismic imaging technology, and the impact recent advances in imaging can deliver to the understanding of the subsurface.

As the industry is chasing increasingly complex reservoirs, the accuracy of the subsurface images used through exploration, appraisal and development is crucial. Recent advances in velocity model building and imaging, and tools for evaluating depth uncertainty are helping geophysicists to build more confidence in their data, and to de-risk their targets.

The focus of this seminar is on sharing results and case studies, to demonstrate how advanced imaging techniques can increase the understanding of challenging areas. Topics for discussion will include, but are not limited to:

  • Imaging: Beyond Kirchhoff, multiples, Q-migration, diffractions, illumination compensation
  • Model building: Full waveform inversion, converted waves, complex anisotropy
  • Depth conversion and uncertainty 

The seminar will be held in the Valhall auditorium at the NPD premises in Stavanger on Thursday October 4th, 2018.

Participant fees  
FORCE member NOK 0,-
Non-member NOK 1000,-
University/student NOK 0,-

Please find registration box at the top of the page.

Important information:
You can register as a FORCE member and pay "FORCE member" price if you are an employee of a member company.
All FORCE members are listed here.

Payment is made online by credit card. Please note that no refunds will be given after you have signed up. If you for any reason can not attend the seminar, you are welcome to send a representative, just inform as soon as there are changes.

Organizing committee:
Ross Milne                         AkerBP
Anders Foss                       Repsol
Pierre-Yves Raya              Wintershall
Alex Bertrand                  Point Resources

Photo: Øyvind Hagen - Statoil